Congratulations ASE!

4 star schools

The Indiana Department of Education announced the 2017-2018 Four Star Schools. The Four Star Schools designation is designed by the Department to recognize great schools in Indiana. The Monroe County Community School Corporation had five schools (Childs Elementary, Unionville Elementary, University Elementary, The Academy of Science and Entrepreneurship, and Bloomington High School South) receive the designation.

“Receiving designation as a Four Star School signifies a pursuit of academic excellence among students, educators, and the administration,” said Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction. “I am honored to recognize these Four Star Schools for their hard work and dedication in preparing their students for a bright and prosperous future.”

The Four Star School Award has been in existence for over 30 years. To receive Four Star designation, a school must receive an “A” on the state’s A-F accountability system and have excellent ISTEP pass rates. A total of 234 schools received the award.

For more information regarding the Four Star School Award, please visit: To view acomplete list of recognized schools, please visit: