Return to Headlines

City of Bloomington Recognizes SWAGGER Winners

Swagger Award
(Left to Right: Sawyer Scheid, Charlotte Siena, Sam Coffelt, Sophia Danzman, Rahel Samantrai, Mayor John Hamilton)
Commission on the Status of Children and Youth Celebrate SWAGGER Winners
In the 4th year of the celebration, Mayor John Hamilton presented four Monroe County youth the Commission on the Status of Children and Youth 2018 S.W.A.G.G.E.R. Award at a ceremony on November 9th at City Hall. S.W.A.G.G.E.R. stands for Students Who Act Generously, Grow, and Earn Respect. S.W.A.G.G.E.R. Award winners of the four age groups received a personalized proclamation from the City of Bloomington and prizes donated by local businesses.  The annual awards recognize students who have a commitment to certain causes or displayed actions that have improved their lives and/or the lives of others around them. The four S.W.A.G.G.E.R. award recipients were Alyssa Vaught, Rahel Samantrai, Sawyer Scheid, and Sophia Danzman.
S.W.A.G.G.E.R. Award Winners
Alyssa Vaught
Rahel Samantrai - 7th-Grade at Tri-North Middle School
Sawyer Scheid - 6th-Grade Lakeview Elementary
Sophia Danzman - 1st-Grade Rogers Elementary
S.W.A.G.G.E.R. Award Nominations
4th-6th Grade
Daci Morris
7th-8th Grade
Charlotte Siena
9th-12th Grade
Daishea Henry
Sam Coffelt
Destiny Sherfield
Naomi Young
Allen Kenny
Amisyah ‘Mimi’ Hopkins
Avery Njau