• Tri-North Clubs & Activities
     
    Club Name Sponsors Description
    Meetings
    Jazz Band 

    Mr. Michael Ahearn

    mahearn@mccsc.edu

    The Jazz Band introduces students to the musical styles of jazz, swing, and rock. The students will learn about and use the various skills in order to play this style of music.  See Mr. Ahearn for membership.

    Wednesdays

    3:15-4:15 pm 

    Yearbook 

    Mr. Ricky Chavez

    rchavez@mccsc.edu

    Selected students will assist with the design and layout of the school yearbook. 

     

    As needed 

    Builders Club 

    Mr. Seth Baysinger

    sbaysing@mccsc.edu

    A service club for middle school-aged youth chartered through the Kiwanis Club.

    Alternating Tuesdays

    3:15-4:30 pm

    LGBTQIA+ Club
    Ms. Ashley Howell
    ahowell@mccsc.edu
     
    Mr. Chad Landrum
    clandrum@mccsc.edu
     
    All students are welcome to join.

    Alternating Tuesdays

    3:15-4:15 pm

     Science Olympiad
    Team 
    Dr. Martha Bowman
    mbowman@mccsc.edu
    A competitive team that utilizes the skills and knowledge from different areas of science in order to complete specified tasks and compete against students from other schools around the state.  Team tryouts occur in October.

    Tuesdays & Thursdays

    TBA 

    Game Club 

    Mr. Darrell Frazier

    dfrazier@mccsc.edu

    Learn and play games that focus on problem-solving, critical thinking, literacy, math, and fun.  Games include chess, checkers, Magic: The Gathering, Carcassonne, Ticket to Ride, Codenames, and others.

    Thursdays

    3:15-4:30 pm 

     Y.E.S. Club
    PTO Parents
    baconnor@mccsc.edu
    Youth Engaged in Service.  Learn about service opportunities in Bloomington from our guest speakers, work on service projects, earn service hours toward the Volunteer Service Award. Make a Difference!

    Once per month as announced

    3:15-4:30 pm 

    Makers Club

    Mrs. Megan Whittaker

    mwhittak@mccsc.edu

    Create crafty STEAM projects (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Math).  Meets after school once a month with various challenges and once a month during TIE with small projects.

    Once per month

    3:15-4:15 pm

    FCCLA (Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America

    Mrs. Brittany Farmer 

    bnfarmer@mccsc.edu

     Leadership skills learned while connecting with the high school chapter.

    TBA
    National Junior Honor Society 
     Mrs. Michelle Harden
    mharden@mccsc.edu

    7th & 8th grade students may apply to NJHS in the spring based on their Semester 1 grades.  8th graders that were inducted last academic year must reapply and maintain their grades to remain in good standing.

     

    TBA
    Other Clubs  

    In the past we've had a Garden Club, Sewing Club, Drama Club, Coding Club, MathCounts, and others.  Students that have an interest in forming a new club can find a faculty advisor and create a new club with Mrs. Floyd's approval.